Happiness

An interesting find:

“In the determination of a person’s level of happiness, genetics account for about 50 percent; life circumstances, such as age, gender, ethnicity, marital status, income, health, occupation, and religious affiliation, accounts for about 10 to 20 percent.  The remainder is a product of how a person thinks and acts.”

I don’t know exactly why this struck so close to home.  I think we all assume we have to work at or find happiness and compare our happiness against the perceived happiness of others.  Who knew that someone else could have a genetic ace up their sleeve of genetic happiness?  I also found it incredibly interesting that all the life circumstances were only 10 to 20 percent.  However we really enjoy blaming our happiness or lack there of on the things around us, our environment.

Here is my childish moment.  I find it unfair that I have a genetic handicap… like the golf handicap… not the fancy parking spot handicap.  It’s not that I mind having to deal with my genetics… it’s the fact that you don’t have a genetic map or a list to check off:

Yup, you’re going to have troubles with:

  • Anxiety
  • Depression
  • Happiness
  • Small Pizza Obsession
  • Love of Pink Socks and Shoes

Check. Check. Check…

If I had the map to what my little strands of dna and whatnot were up to in there… I’d be a little more clear what things in my life could cause a genetic Jenga of epic proportions.

Maybe a little genetic survival guide:

  • 1 bottle of xanax
  • 1 bottle of tums
  • 1 box of kleenex
  • 1 box of ho ho’s
  • 1 bottle of wine (just one…)
  • 1 blog in which to selfishly pour out my incoherent ramblings
  • 1 big ass genetic map of dysfunction… complete with road construction tips, speed traps, a scale (ya know… so you know the real length and duration of any emotional detours you might take)
Leave a Reply

