Muddled Monday.

I’m mentally exhausted.  I’ve taken 3 exams (for some software certifications) in the last 6 days.  1 of them was 1 hour in length, both of the other exams were 2 hours in length. Even beyond that, was the hours.  H.O.U.R.S. of studying for each one.  All I’ve done for the last couple weeks is either learn, study, eat and sleep.  Immediately after taking my last exam this morning my exhausted fell over me like a blanket.  Not a warm fuzzy one.  A heavy, oppressing one. 

All I’ve wanted to do all day is sit in the corner, drool on myself and maybe have some chocolate thrown in my general direction.  I don’t want to actually interact that much with people… those brain cells are in recovery right now.

Admittedly I have not been the best company lately at home.  I’ve been cranky, distracted and tired.  Things like patience and empathy are somewhere off hanging out with our Wisconsin Winter.  You know it exists, but it just doesn’t seem like it sometimes.

In order to combat these doldrum feelings (and also to cope with my last hour of work) I started writing a pep talk to myself on sticky notes. 

They go something like this (no particular order):

  • Make wishes.
  • Be present.
  • Time is flying, even when it’s dragging.
  • Practice gratefulness, ever. single. day.
  • Look for it (anything good)… do it actively.
  • Love.
  • Breathe – Pause – Enjoy.
  • Leap… leaving doubts behind.

This did make me feel a little better.  I’m feeling a little more light-hearted.  My brain is definitely still melted, but hopefully that will be cleared up by tomorrow.  For tonight I just hope to relax.  Enjoy the quiet that Monday evenings bring. Enjoy the boys and their stories. Share chocolate. Go to bed.

Here’s to making lists to clear the clutter out of your mind and shrugging heavy blankets off your shoulders.

Note: Check out this thanksgiving guide from www.stylemepretty.com

http://www.stylemepretty.com/2012/11/15/a-thanksgiving-e-guide-made-simple/

It’s pretty fantastic and chalked full of fun info and recipes to de-stress thanksgiving preparations.

Leave a Reply

