Happy 2014!

This coming year is going to be full of such love, laughter and family!  … and stress, panic and financial deprivation.  Sounds fun!  I got to spend New Years day with my sister and the nieces while Jason worked tirelessly.  Spending the first day of a new year with some of the most precious people in my life truly warmed my heart!  It makes me smile every time I think of it.  Those girls can love you to death one minute and poop on you the next… literally and figuratively.  Makes you really appreciate the times when they are smiling or sleep, and especially if they are doing both at the same time!

Throughout my years of adult hood I have known that I leaned more towards not having children.  I find my nieces to be a good litmus test.  It is truly a mystery to me how I can love my nieces unconditionally and with a great awe… and yet still have no desire to make my own.  Kinda like enjoying fine wine.  I truly enjoy it in the moment, but have very little ambition to go out, plant grapes… and wait for a few years to see the literal fruits of my labor.  I also think that it helps me to be able to focus on Vince and our semi-functional family with all my heart.

On a totally unrelated side note, I’ve been watching about 87 hours of the series “Bones” a week.  I feel like I have only dabbled with this show before, and now I may be on the edge of slight obsession.  I find that I spend every episode waiting for Bones and Booth just get together already.  I’m almost to the end of season 4 out of 8.  Jason is a little worried I might be melting my brain.  I feel like that is an astute observation.  I’d be remiss if I didn’t mention that I’m watching it now :)

On the wedding front, I just ordered some fun colored plastic utensils for the wedding.  I don’t know why, but that accomplishment makes me very excited.  I’m just waiting for the mail man to come out and deliver my fancy disposable dinner-ware.  I am hoping that I can somehow serve a buffet as non-buffet-esque as possible.  I find my greatest weakness in wedding planning is that I find it a constant struggle to reign myself in financially.  I want the day to be so thoughtful for everyone that attends. I know it is in the country and not that close to people’s homes. I don’t want anyone to feel like the day was less than the perfect use of their precious time that day.  Silly, I know. They say you should focus on what you want, but what do you do when what you want is for everyone else to have a fantastic day?  Probably accept the fact that I can’t control what other people feel about our big day… blah blah blah.  ;)  Easier said than done, my friends.

Craft-tacular find… Paint pens.  I am quite sure that I am late to this trend, however it was literally like an episode of glee when I opened up the pack of paint pens and first brushed them across a paint glass.  Your welcome and/or I’m sorry for what will surely be an influx of christmas/birthday and wedding presents that are painted.  With love.  Maybe with some wine too.  Mostly love.

Braces/Invisalign.  I just put aligner 40 out of 47 into my mouth yesterday.  That sounds damn close to the end to me!  For the most part, I am totally adapt to having them in.  I can take them out and put them in during a meeting and people don’t even notice.  Being 80 weeks into braces, most people still don’t notice that I have them in when we are talking.  It feels good to not be ashamed or embarrassed of my smile at the moment, especially when I have so much to smile for!  Totally worth the investment.

In short, pretty much an awesome start to the year 2014!

Leave a Reply

