3 Day Refresh – Review

A few things you should know before reading any further:

  1. I am a beachbody coach.
  2. I only completed 90% of the first day of this program before stopping.
  3. I love beachbody, their vision, and their programs (including the workouts and shakes).
  4. The 3 Day Refresh… was not for me.

I know so many people have had wonderous luck with this program.  People have lost between 3-10 pounds in just 3 days, their cravings were gone, their tummies less bloated, and overall looked and sounded pretty happy afterwards.  So, please do not let my opinion sway your overall decision, but I do want to give an honest review of how I felt it went.

Day 1 (and as it would turn out the only day):

  • Wake up and drink a cup of water – nbd, I like water.
  • Drink a vegan chocolate shake – I don’t like the vegan shakes, so this kinda bummed me out since I usually have café latte or regular chocolate shakes and I prefer their flavor and texture over the vegan chocolate.  I added some strawberries to the shake (per the plan) and threw a few in my mouth as well (since you get 12 of them).
  • Water, water, water (pee, pee, pee)
  • Have a glass of tea – nbd, I like tea as well
  • Water, water, water (pee, pee, pee)
  • Fiber sweep – there were a lot of bad reviews about this online, but I didn’t mind it.  I mixed it with 10 ounces of water and downed it faster than a college kid at a frat party.  Kinda lemony, but it didn’t bother me.
  • Water, water, water (pee, pee, pee)
  • Lunch – Vanilla Fresh Shake (kind of tastes like cereal milk, without the cereal).  With fruit, veggie and hummus.  I think my husband put it best when he said, “I found myself licking the container to try and get every ounce of hummus out of that thing.”  Because the shake was drank with it, I was relatively satisfied after lunch.  Full would be a strong word, content would be stretching it… but definitely not still hungry.
  • Water, water, water (pee, pee, pee)
  • Snack – veggie and hummus again.  Again – violation of tiny hummus bowl (2 Tbsp) commenced.
  • Water, water, water (pee, pee, pee) hungry, hungry, hungry
  • Have another glass of tea – nbd, I like tea as well — however, super hungry and the tea wasn’t really cutting it.
  • Dinner – Vanilla Fresh Shake again, and an option from the dinner list.  We did the stir fry veggies.  My husband sat across from me and next to his son.  He picked at his veggies while drooling over his son’s canned raviolis… bless his heart… my husband was holding out for me.
  • Water, water, water – still holding fork – staring down husband – reconsidering life choices – remembering why I never tried out for survivor, naked and afraid, or any other show where food wasn’t guaranteed.
  • Dinner 2.0 – Added a chicken breast and packaged up the rest of the refresh contents to return via the mail.
  • Day 2 – resumed normal eating, but my stomach was SO upset and bloated. Not sure if it was something to do with the shakes being different?  But my stomach didn’t feel right until what would have been Day 3.

Basically – it just wasn’t for me.  I spent the entire day worrying about what I was going to eat, when I was going to eat it, how I was going to gum 12 strawberries to feel more like 27 strawberries. I didn’t have much weight to lose, my husband was only doing it for moral support… our hearts just weren’t in it… and our stomach’s and resolve were empty.

Again – I do believe that this is a good jump start for people looking to jump start their body and minds onto a new path.  With the right mindset, and the okay-ness with a lack of solid food… this could totally be the program for you!

I’m happy to answer any questions you might have about it, just know I chose not to finish it… so I can only speak to what I did complete.

Peace out!

8aef1a6e6aa040ec775ac4b83def8758

One thought on “3 Day Refresh – Review

Leave a Reply

