Put me in coach… I’m ready to play…

Today.

I’ve been doing this life coaching thing since about February and I LOVE it.  It is such a great outlet for me to gently evaluate myself and where I’m at in life (physically, mentally, emotionally, financially, etc) and non-judgmentally decide if I should stay the course, or pick a new navigational beacon to follow.

Some of my favorite topics so far have been:

Courageous Conversations: The ability to have a conversation where you intentions are pure and you care coming from a place of kindness.  My tendancy is to fall back to a place of sarcasm and deflection when I’m in a conversation I don’t care for.  Which, I still do most of the time, it’s just now I am aware of this tendency and can evaluate it as it’s happening, or after it has happened.  Mostly I now have the opportunity to really think about WHY that conversation made me uncomfortable or upset… which is really the heart of the issue.  Once I understand that, the courageous part of the conversation really falls into place.

Triggers: This has become quite the buzz word while I’ve been in this program. I don’t what else to call them… “shit that makes my eye twitch and makes me want to slap you”… is really long, so I guess we will stick with trigger.  It is so interesting to me to have better tools to sit back and think about WHY I’m triggered about something or someone.  It helps remove the raw edge off the feeling and replaces it with a curiosity and puzzle-aspect.

Embracing Imperfection: Being fine with not understanding, not doing the right thing, freaking out when you weren’t at your best, etc.  We are human.  The thing is to NOT beat yourself up about something you’ve already done (it’s in the past).  The only thing to do is move forward and treat it as a new tool. Every experience (good or bad) is a blessing in a sense because it means you’re still alive.  It’s an opportunity to learn and grow.  To find out how to repeat positive experiences, or how to avoid or ease away from negative experiences in the future.

It goes without saying that these are not earth-shattering ideas.  However, with an open heart and mind… they mean so much more.  When you are kindly curious about yourself and life, you become kinder to everyone in it… which includes yourself!!  THIS… has been the best gift.  A kindness to myself and love for myself which is still a work in progress, but totally invaluable in the long term.

I can’t say enough about the benefits of life coaching in person, through personal development books, audio books, youtube videos, etc. The time is NOW.  There are SO many resources out there for anyone who is just curious enough to want to better understand yourself.

If you want information about the life coaching program I’m going through, message me through the blog and I’d be happy to share.  I’ll be sharing some of the personal development videos, books, etc on here as well.

PS – Go get a massage.  You need it, even if you think you don’t.  You’re welcome.

Leave a Reply

